Note to Algebra II

Here is an email I sent out:

Hello Algebra II’ers

If you go to http://www.alicekeeler.net you can find the lesson for the day and links to the quests.
I have created https://acelkeeler.wordpress.com/ today to give you a model of a wordpress blog.
Directions are on my blog
I need you to make a wordpress blog.  Go to http://www.wordpress.com and if you do not already have an account you will want to make a wordpress account.
Create a new blog for math class please! Please do this ASAP if possible. I’m happy to help, just ask. Make sure you makeakeeler@acelfresno.org admin on your site.
I am thinking that when students ask me questions I will post the answers to the wordpress blog. I can use the wordpress app on my phone and iPad so that is the easiest place for me to do that. You can also make comments on my posts, so that is cool also.
I posted some livescribe pen notes on https://acelkeeler.wordpress.com/ already. Also I am putting some answers to questions students asked me about quest 1.
Don’t forget you need to do all 8 stations!!!!!!!
Here are things I am working on:
  • Class Dojo… trying to figure out what categories I want to use so I can give you feedback about how you are doing.
  • How to turn things in … right now I am stuck since we don’t have iPads so I am stalling… But ultimately we need to keep track of when you are doing something well so you can earn XP for it.  Your help in making this happen is appreciated.
  • Gradecam – I gave out cards with your SID number on it that you can bubble in your XP you are earning and SCAN it into my computer.  I am thinking this will help me when we are doing tasks in class that are not quests but just activities.  If you are mastering material, you should get XP.  So keep that in mind, we should be scanning stuff in all the time.
  • Levels – Once we start getting XP recorded down we can see how the levels are coming. I wanted to start this right off the bat, but we need SID numbers and computers… so we will get there soon, no stress 🙂
  • Achievements – Once everyone has the iPads what we will do each week is do goal setting.  What level do you want to get to, how are you going to get there.  What achievements can you earn this week?
  • Speaking of which, you will have an achievements page on your wordpress blog where you will post your achievements.  I need some volunteers to create badges for the achievements. Let me know if you can do this for me 🙂
Good Luck
Let me know what questions/suggestions/frustrations you have.  
Mrs. Keeler
Leave a Reply

